NaNoWriMo: On the Brink of Madness

31 Oct

The madness begins tomorrow. Thirty days of grudge match. My imagination versus fifty thousand words. I think I’m up to it. Last year, I went into this with banners flying, confidence high. It wasn’t as easy as I’d hoped, though. The year before that was a breeze, by comparison.

This year, I’m feeling quieter about it all. (Part of a larger trend, as you might have noticed by the dust on this blog.) I didn’t think I’d have enough of an idea, actually. Luckily, one blossomed a few weeks ago. So I enter this year’s fray with less pomp and more preparation. This will be the first time I concentrate on plot instead of story or characters.  I’m armed with my copy of Save the Cat and the various “beats” of my plot. It’s not an outline. It’s more of a list of landmarks I need to hit as I meander toward the finish line in whatever kind of squiggly path I discover. Wish me good luck. Plotting is my weak point.

Another of my weak points is brevity, and I hope to make this novel 60-70k words, completed. Very short compared to my usual 100k-ish words.

Anyway, here’s my project. I hope to have fun bringing it to life.

A twelve-year-old runaway decides to pay “rent” on his woodland hideout by becoming its owners’ fairy god…um…kid – eavesdropping in order to grant wishes, serve as a human Ouija board, and perform anonymous good deeds from the tree tops. However, his “magic” keeps leading to disaster, winter’s on the way, and rumors are spreading that could lead to discovery by the stepfather he’d hoped to escape.

Background texture by Smoko-Stock

3 Responses to “NaNoWriMo: On the Brink of Madness”

  1. Jon Paul October 31, 2011 at 10:48 #

    Good luck! I think this is going to be a ton of fun!

    Nice cover BTW! 😀

    • Caroline October 31, 2011 at 10:52 #

      Thanks, JP. I was about to reply to your email this morning where you mentioned Save the Cat. I’m glad I’m not alone in this “experiment.” Let me know how the beat sheet works for you. Also, I’m a longtime follower of the pleonasm list. Great minds and all that, eh?

  2. M. Howalt October 31, 2011 at 13:00 #

    I like your idea! 🙂
    Good luck with NaNoWriMo this year! It’s two hours away in my timezone this moment …

Leave a Reply

