Boo

12 May

We are not amused, American Idol. It’s the sad, sad truth that James’ performances were one of the few things we looked forward to each week*. It’s been that kind of a spring. (Plus James Durbin is awesome.)

Now we have to amuse ourselves by skulking Hunger Games movie blogs, trying to imagine how well the actors fit their roles.

Okay. I only go there once in a while, but I did spend an otherwise useless hour today making Josh Hutcherson into Peeta Mellark — or at least a blond. Yep, that works. Easier to imagine now. That guy could decorate a cake and throw big sacks of flour around. Real.

*(James’s? James’? My name ends in an S, and I liked apostrophe-s, not s-apostrophe, but now the former looks wrong.)

7 Responses to “Boo”

  1. Hans May 13, 2011 at 14:33 #

    James’s. If it’s a plural, the trailing apostrophe is correct, e.g. The Bridges’ lovely children 🙂

  2. Sam May 23, 2011 at 07:06 #

    He has a sweet face, but sorry, love, he needs to be lots blonder than that. I picture Peeta as a towhead, with a sort of long shag. He may have to wear contacts, too. He needs to be very Nordic. I did like him in “The Kids are All Right.”

  3. Caroline May 23, 2011 at 07:24 #

    You’re right, Sam. That’s totally how I pictured him, probably because Katniss talks about how pale his lashes and leg hair were. But the official description (as his name is called for the games) is this:

    “I watch him as he makes his way toward the stage. Medium height, stocky build, ashy blond hair that falls in waves over his forehead.”

    I think ashy is a darker blond. ? (I agree with your vision, though.)

    • Sam May 23, 2011 at 07:34 #

      LOL! Wow. Good memory. Yes, I remember the stocky build now, but not the ashy (I agree with you that would be darker.) I’m laughing because you know how I pictured him? Did you ever watch the first AI spin-off, “International Idol?” That pitted Idols from every country against each other? And the Norwegian idol (forget his name…) swept the whole thing (and rightfully so) with his rendition of U2’s “Beautiful Day?” That’s how I think of Peeta. He was a plumber, that dude. And Kelly Clarkson was in awe of him. Rightfully so.

      • Caroline May 23, 2011 at 08:50 #

        My memory is terrible. I had to grab my Nook and swear at it until it reached the correct page (since my keyword searches were fruitless).
        I’ll look up the Norwegian Idol. 🙂 I just meant I agreed about the tow-headed/shag thing.

  4. Sam May 23, 2011 at 10:11 #

    Hi C, I looked him up. Kurt Nilsen. He’s still around. The guy who hosts England’s “Pop Idol” said to him: “You’re difficult to market, Kurt: you sing like an angel, but you look like a Hobbit.” Which he loved. Which is not to say that I didn’t imagine Peeta hot. I totally did. It’s more to sheepishly admit that I found Kurt Nilsen kind of hot. 😉

  5. Sam May 23, 2011 at 10:12 #

    Waves over his forehead! So I was right about the shag. 😉

Leave a Reply

