Eenie Meenie

22 Mar

It’s battle of the blog (providers) over here.

I’ve been on wordpress.com, but I’m getting irritated that I can’t use scripts, have followers/friends, et cetera.

I thought I’d try Blogger, since so many of you are “over there,” but it took ages to get my wordpress export file to convert and import to Blogger. I wasn’t even that interested anymore by the time it succeeded; it just became a grudge match. Now it works, though. I’ve got it looking a lot like this site. However…??? Is that what I really want?

Now I’m looking at a wordpress.org account (self-hosted).  Ah the confusion.

I’ll be sure to post over here, should there be a definitive change.

Always remember the alternate URL http://www.untitlement.com — that should take you to whichever option I choose. Ultimately. This is all going to take some time.

Let me know your recommendations. Are you pro/con WordPress.com, WordPress.org, or Blogger? Anything else I should consider?

I’d love input.

5 Responses to “Eenie Meenie”

  1. Sarah Ahiers March 23, 2011 at 07:34 #

    i prefer blogger. BUT that’s because i’m on blogger and really don’t have much experience with anything else.

    • Caroline March 23, 2011 at 09:50 #

      Thanks! I’ll take the lack of complaints as a vote in Blogger’s favor. 🙂

  2. Elizabeth Twist March 23, 2011 at 09:35 #

    I’ve heard people say that Blogger looks “less professional” than WordPress. Since Blogger added static pages to the menu of things you can do with your blog, I would say it’s as functional as WordPress and a teensy bit more intuitive in terms of using it. I like the social networking aspect of Blogger. Overall, I find it more friendly.

    That having been said, I will follow your feed no matter what, Caroline, so no worries.

    • Caroline March 23, 2011 at 09:51 #

      Thanks so much, Elizabeth! You made my day. 🙂

  3. j. bridget chicoine March 23, 2011 at 16:17 #

    I use Blogger because that’s what I first became acquainted with. I can’t even imagine what’s involved with transferring posts, or what have you, from one format to the other…
    That said, I can’t say that I’ve had any complaints regarding Blogger, but I don’t try to do a whole lot of fancy stuff. And I do like the Follower option.

Leave a Reply

