NPR Fail & A New Writing Contest

24 Jan

By Nevit Dilmen (Own work)

I had a story planned for the NPR challenge — a silly idea based on characters from my WIP. I was poised to write, and then — kabam — a migraine came a-calling. Hey Imitrex man!

By the time I slept off the nasty side effects and scribbled a first draft, it was too late.  The deadline was forty minutes in the past, and I was forty words over limit. Besides…first draft.

My husband did finish and submit a story! I’m really proud of him. And jealous.

***

In other news, there’s a new contest, and I’m flailing because I want to participate but don’t know that I’m ready.

For those of my writer-readers who possess courage and a polished first paragraph (not to mention enough of a manuscript to enjoy the prizes), check out former literary agent Nathan Bransford’s The Fourth Sort-of-Annual Stupendously Ultimate First Paragraph Challenge! (Gotta love the name.)

The grand prize…

The opportunity to have a partial manuscript considered by [Nathan Bransford’s] utterly fantastic agent, Catherine Drayton of InkWell, whose clients include bestselling authors such as Markus Zusak (THE BOOK THIEF), John Flanagan (THE RANGER’S APPRENTICE series) and Becca Fitzpatrick (HUSH HUSH), among others.

Other prizes include a signed copy of NB’s novel and a query critique.

Click on the link above to read the rules and/or enter. Good luck! You may see me there. Not sure. My first paragraph is pretty, but I’m not sure it’s compelling.

***The gif of the radiometer has nothing to do with anything. I just liked it. Purty.

The opportunity to have a partial manuscript considered by my utterly fantastic agent, Catherine Drayton of InkWell, whose clients include bestselling authors such as Markus Zusak (THE BOOK THIEF), John Flanagan (THE RANGER’S APPRENTICE series) and Becca Fitzpatrick (HUS
6 Responses to “NPR Fail & A New Writing Contest”

  1. Jon Paul January 24, 2011 at 22:22 #

    That contest sounds like something I’d love to enter–but like you, I question whether I’m ready. The problem seems to be tangentially related to the fact that my novel isn’t finished yet; that’s something an agent might be willing to overlook, right?!

    On the NPR project, pat yourself on the back for giving it a shot. I didn’t even get that far. 🙂

  2. Your thither January 25, 2011 at 11:46 #

    If you don’t submit your paragraph I will either do it for you or be angry with you… or both. Or maybe I’ll just deauthorize your iTunes. Muah ha haa! 🙂 Just kidding. It’s just that you ARE SUCH A GREAT WRITER!!!

  3. Liza January 25, 2011 at 12:39 #

    If your paragraph is anything like your blog posts…then yep, I’m pretty sure you should do it.

  4. Tony Benson January 25, 2011 at 13:02 #

    Sorry to hear about the migrane – It’s a real bummer, and it can really put you out of action.

    Having read some of your work I doubt if your story sucked like you say it did – we’re sometimes our own worst critic.

    Good luck if you chose to enter the First Paragraph contest. There’s a ‘Life is Good’ award for you on my blog because I think you’re so creative.

    http://firesidepark.blogspot.com

    • Caroline January 27, 2011 at 14:21 #

      Thank you, Tony. I just found this comment in my spam folder today, for some reason. Glad I caught it! Thanks again for the award.

  5. Caroline January 25, 2011 at 13:22 #

    Thanks! I might just give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

