I Require an Aslan Doorknocker

21 Jan

Dear Certain Moms at My Sons’ School,

I look like Attila the Hun in sweats or basic crewneck t-shirts and jeans. That’s why I don’t wear them like everyone else. You’re younger, thinner, and richer. I’m older. I get to dress weird. So don’t give me those looks.

Also, the reason you have to honk at me to move forward in line while dropping off my son is not because I’m stupid and using the phone or texting. It’s because I’ve been idling for twenty minutes and started reading my Nook and got pulled in by the pretty writing and forgot where I was. So I’m stupid and using a device — but literarily. You see the difference now. And don’t give me that look.

Thank you for your time

***

- NarniaWeb.com

My first grader is reading The Chronicles of Narnia right now, and I’m just giddy. Mr. Untitlement read the first few books to them at bedtime, and my son read Prince Caspian on his own. Now he’s on to one of my favorites: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. I took him to see the movie the other day.

Which leads me to wonder…

Why is there no Voyage of the Dawn Treader play set? Where is the toy ship with the plastic people and talking mouse? Where is the plastic Eustace As Dragon figurine?

Thimbles and thunderstorms!

All the toys are from The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe or Prince Caspian. They have a plastic version of every critter in the battle from PC, but no Dawn Treader? Come on!

I fell in love with a set of Aslan/White Witch bookends during my shopping quest, however. Must save up. Gollum and the Watchers of Rauros are getting lonely. (I’m entering my forties. It’s mandated by law that I collect figurines as I age. I’m going to make mine as strange as possible, though, and imagine them lurking in dark corners of an imagined future home library where all the books have gilded spines. If The Stand had figurines, I’d… Well, I’d probably avoid those. M-O-O-N — that spells nevermind.)

Weeklong migraines are not good for me.

Shorter, more useful posts soon.

3 Responses to “I Require an Aslan Doorknocker”

  1. Tony Benson January 21, 2011 at 15:46 #

    Take no notice – they are young and foolish, and they don’t know any better. When they grow up they’ll read the Chronicles of Narnia and Lolita, and they’ll realise that there’s more to life than hurrying everybody else along outside the school. Nuff said?

  2. Jon Paul January 21, 2011 at 22:11 #

    We are really looking forward to sharing some of our favorite books with our three year old. FurnaceGirl and I were just discussing this very idea the other night. What do you think: spring Gravity’s Rainbow on her first, or the old standard, War and Peace?

    On the action figure front, I have a sneaking suspicion that our little girl will soon be playing with a few plastic simulacra from Star Wars (a little Darth anyone?)–whether she wants to or not.

    (And yes, I’ve been dying to use simulacra in a sentence for ages–so thanks for that. 😀 )

  3. emely March 22, 2012 at 15:15 #

    i love narnia so much that i will like to be in a movia thats my biggest dream ever. i love narni a i to be in a movie if someone will make that drean come true

Leave a Reply

