Bridget Carle & the Mystery of the 99th Page

20 Jan

Some more blogfest fun coming up next week…

The 99th Page Blogfest is hosted by writer Holly Dodson and four of her fellow bloggers. Writers are invited to submit page ninety-nine of their novels, and then participants (and kindly blog readers) will comment, stating if they’d read further, based on that page.

Explanation of the blogfest’s origins can be found in this article from Guardian.co.uk:

Ford Madox Ford recommended instead that readers “open the book to page ninety-nine and the quality of the whole will be revealed to you”. A new website, page99test.com, launches next month to test that premise. It will offer (courageous) authors and aspiring authors the chance to upload the 99th pages of their works and invite readers to comment on whether they would buy, or like to read, the rest.

Should be fun! You will find my entry here on January 28th (next Friday). [Edit: Here’s the link to my 99th page]

12 Responses to “Bridget Carle & the Mystery of the 99th Page”

  1. damyanti January 20, 2011 at 23:34 #

    This is very interesting. Must try reading the 99th page of the books I’m tempted to buy to check if they’re worth it!

    • Caroline January 21, 2011 at 12:51 #

      I will probably try it, too, hoping that page 99 isn’t a spoiler. 🙂

  2. Jon Paul January 21, 2011 at 01:48 #

    Hmmm…I find Mr. Madox Ford’s (or is it simply Ford’s?) suggestion somewhat dubious. I plan to go home this evening and try that trick on at least a couple dozen books on my bookshelf. Full report to follow.

    But the blogfest sounds like a blast. I’d love to enter also but I’ve discovered, in order to turn in a 99th page, I first must have a MS. Tough break that.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your submission, however.

    • Caroline January 21, 2011 at 12:55 #

      I’m planning a visit to my bookshelves later today to find out what is happening on page ninety-nine of my favorite novels.

      My draft is far from finished, but I have a page ninety-nine. Actually, I have several. I have to decide if I’ll use page ninety-nine based on double-spaced Courier 12 point (as my MS is now), based on single-spaced text, or based on 250 words a page (which I’ve read is standard).

  3. lisa-marie January 21, 2011 at 12:48 #

    Oh, very cool! I’m going to sign up right now!

    • Caroline January 21, 2011 at 12:56 #

      Yay! Can’t wait to read your ninety-ninth page.

  4. Holly January 21, 2011 at 13:07 #

    Thank you for spreading the word, Caroline!

    • Caroline January 21, 2011 at 13:11 #

      You’re welcome. It’s a really fun idea. For a while, there was a meme circulating on Facebook where you posted the xth sentence on page 53 of the book closest to you. I was always tempted to post one from my WIP. Now I get an entire page. 🙂

      I was just about to comment on your blog, letting you know I’d posted this. Glad you found it.

  5. M. Howalt January 24, 2011 at 03:59 #

    That’s interesting. Thank you for the link!

    • Caroline January 24, 2011 at 07:08 #

      Should be fun. I hope you can participate.

      • M. Howalt January 24, 2011 at 07:36 #

        I sighed up and already read a few of the pages 99. My plan is to put up a few of my own at some point too. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A hermit’s approach or group therapy? « Howalt: A Writer's Blog - January 25, 2011

    […] I’ll leave you with a link that I found on Untitlement. It’s Page 99 Test. The concept is simple: Read samples of fiction taken from the 99th page […]

Leave a Reply

