The Anniversary of DOOM

16 Jan

I’ve noticed something recently.

Nearly every blog I read is roughly one year old.

Now, why is that?

Is it near the one year mark that one hits one’s stride and gains a widespread following?

Or…should I be…afraid?

What precisely happens to a blog that’s, say, one and a HALF?

[Insert Twilight Zone theme]

(Don’t give me that “because they all started as a New Year’s resolution” song and dance. I detect something more sinister. Because it’s more entertaining that way.)

P.S. — Hi, entire writing blogosphere! I’m reading Save the Cat, too! Great book. And I love how he saves the cat on page xv of the Introduction. A perfect, engaging example to prove he knows what he’s talking about.

8 Responses to “The Anniversary of DOOM”

  1. Sam January 16, 2011 at 18:50 #

    Just had my fifth anniversary in September. So maybe I escaped the curse. 😉 But I have noticed a lot of blogs are old. I think it’s because people update FB and Twitter before their blogs now. Blogs are old school. I still love them, though. 🙂

    • Caroline January 16, 2011 at 18:54 #

      I love your blog. It’s one of the first I ever read.

      While I like FB, it’s too ephemeral. I dislike that my older posts are buried so deeply in the muck that they might as well be gone forever. I can’t go back and see what I was doing this time last year without spending nearly a year clicking Older Posts.

      Anyway, I’m old school, so it’s appropriate that I blog. 🙂

      • Tony Benson January 17, 2011 at 07:05 #

        Old school? Oh dear! I only started blogging recently and I thought I was being so *now*

  2. Caroline January 17, 2011 at 09:29 #

    Blogging is timeless.

    • Caroline January 17, 2011 at 09:31 #

      Until, that is, you reach the one-year mark. Then the bogeymen come and get you. Unless it’s a Wednesday. Bogeymen get Wednesdays off.

  3. Sarah Ahiers January 18, 2011 at 10:15 #

    well…mine was started at the new year to make it easier to remember my blogoversary…

    • Caroline January 18, 2011 at 10:22 #

      Resourceful. I have a vague idea that I started this blog in September. I’ll have to check.

  4. M. Howalt January 19, 2011 at 01:21 #

    Haha, what Tony Benson said! I started blogging in November, so I have a long way to go before a one year anniversary.

Leave a Reply

