How Do You Fly in Your Dreams?

3 Dec

My husband and I have been talking about the different methods people use to fly in their dreams. I haven’t heard a repeat yet.

My husband flies by bounding higher and higher until he sometimes gets too high and is afraid to come back down.

Me? I jump and pedal my feet in the air. Madly. With the success of a chicken. It’s only good for jumping over puddles, really. Not much more. However, once in a blue moon I fly using something like a kiddie swing, complete with chains that rise to nowhere but serve as rudders. Then I’m up in that sky and ready for adventure, man.

I can also jump at the top of long spiral staircases and then hover-glide all the way down without touching a single stair. But that’s in real life. 😉

How about you? Tell me in the comments below:

  1. Do you fly in your dreams?
  2. HOW do you fly in your dreams?
  3. What pitfalls and advantages come from your particular method?

 

17 Responses to “How Do You Fly in Your Dreams?”

  1. Mickie December 3, 2010 at 11:09 #

    I only fly when I’m just above the ocean. I’ll suddenly find myself above the sea, and then I’ll just splash through the surface of the water and “fly” way down deep, past whales and dolphins, etc. I always panic at first, but then when I can hold my breath no longer, I inhale, and somehow I can breathe in the water like a fish! Very weird.

    • Caroline December 3, 2010 at 11:12 #

      See? I love this. Flying beneath the sea is awesome and sounds beautiful.

      • Your thither December 3, 2010 at 20:52 #

        What was that book, Ruth Chew maybe, where the kids were lying under the water and breathing by aid of some magic?

  2. Sara December 3, 2010 at 11:25 #

    I take leaps and realize that I’m going much further than a normal jump, and suddenly discover that I’m actually flying. Never up high, just a few feet off the surface. It’s almost always that i’m flying out to the raft at the beach I used to go to (I guess I always wished that I could get out to it without swimming)

    • Caroline December 3, 2010 at 16:20 #

      I love that you have a specific place you return to when you’re flying. Do you stay aloft once you jump? Or is it a series of bounds?

  3. Zan December 3, 2010 at 12:18 #

    I never fly. I do swim, alot. I dream about water, alot. And I am a terrible swimmer so this has always puzzled me. But, then again, I do ride (horses) in my dreams, which is almost like flying.

    • Caroline December 3, 2010 at 16:22 #

      When I dream of being in water, it’s usually finding myself way too far from shore with tidal waves coming and me wondering if I can body surf to safety.

      I don’t think I’ve ever had a horse riding dream.

  4. Christina December 3, 2010 at 18:40 #

    I just sense the wind and the movement of my red Superman cape…not a Supergirl cape for some weird reason…

  5. Your thither December 3, 2010 at 20:48 #

    I jump into a good headwind and I’m off. No pedaling or flapping. My only concern tends to be people or planes, or one time a blimp as I was flying over a football stadium, seeing me. Also when I get too high up it gets really cold and I’ll come lower to warm up.

    I think I need the headwind because anytime I’m in one in real life I always close my eyes briefly and imagine for a moment I’m flying. 🙂

    • Caroline December 3, 2010 at 20:54 #

      Maybe you were a dog taking a ride in a car in your last life. 😉

  6. saraflower December 5, 2010 at 11:38 #

    I do fly in my dreams, but I can’t seem to control it. I just kind of jump and then I’m up in the air flying really fast. The sucky thing is that I’m usually really weirded out by the whole thing. Next time I will try and just enjoy the experience.

    • Caroline December 7, 2010 at 19:52 #

      I’m usually being pursued when I do my chicken flight, so I don’t enjoy it, either. 🙂

  7. Shannon December 6, 2010 at 20:47 #

    Interesting question. I don’t have a lot of flying dreams. When I have flown, I soar.

    • Caroline December 7, 2010 at 19:53 #

      Soaring sounds wonderful.

  8. Morgan January 23, 2011 at 20:58 #

    I fly a lot in my dreams. But, I’m always horrible at it. Usually, I actually have wings, and I kind of do this thing where I run a few steps, jump up, hover in the air, and come crashing back down. Or, I fly into telephone wires. But, there was a time when i had a dream where i didn’t have wings, but i could still fly. I had like an invisible glider or something. At least, that’s what it felt like.

    • Caroline January 23, 2011 at 22:48 #

      I think my kiddie swing is kind of an invisible glider, too.

      Thanks for commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

