I Woke Last Night to the Sound of Thunder

19 Oct

I fell asleep last night to the sound of neighbors playing bass drums and rolling boulders down the street. This is a Monday night ritual, although most call it wheeling three mammoth waste cans to the curb.

My dreams were fitful since I’d gone to bed feeling sick, and when I heard someone bowling beneath my bed, it seemed about right. It scared me, but it fit the mood. Took a moment to realize that, hey, that’s not right. Husband eventually discovered that one of our apparating mice apparated onto a tupperware full of sugar and knocked it out of a cabinet to the floor where it then rolled across the tile. I sleep just above the kitchen. Thanks mice (who are obviously in league with the ants).

Thusly awake at an ungodly hour, I discovered there was real thunder, too. I watched the rapid, flickering lightning that usually occurs only in horror movies, listened to distant thunder, and then the inevitable happened:

The Depths of Despair.

I believe the great Sir Elton John said it best when he declared, “It’s four o’clock in the morning. Dammit!”

It was five, but same difference. Just as many Dementors on the loose.

A song crept into my head that used to play a lot on the classic rock channel when I was in college:

I woke last night to the sound of thunder
How far off, I sat and wondered
Started humming a song from 1962
Ain’t it funny how the night moves
When you just don’t have as much to lose
Strange how the night moves

…When autumn’s closing in

The verse follows a crescendo of exulting over being young and restless and bold, and it seems to be him as a middle-aged man looking back. I thought it was kind of sad when I was twenty-three. At forty, it’s kind of tragic. At least, it’s tragic at 5 AM, and it set me off in reeling despair about age and wasted time and doors closing and no CTRL-Z/Undo.

Bob Seger eventually gave way to Pink Floyd. Yesterday, I hurtled along the road with my five-year-old in the backseat enjoying Dark Side of the Moon, so the lyrics to “Time” were readily available to my nighttime brain.

Tired of lying in the sunshine, staying home to watch the rain.
You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today.
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you.
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun

In the wee hours, a lyric can seem like an epiphany, a message crafted just for you. And even if you wake up later that morning and most of its poignancy is lost, even if it’s lost all meaning like those dreams with ideas you think will be brilliant that turn out to be gibberish, some of the emotion remains.

I need to get writing to burn off some of the irritating angst. I blame Bebe. In trying to put myself in her head while plotting Upper High Hog, I seem to have opened a few dark little doors in my own life. Let’s just call it inspiration that I can use in my story.

It’s a dangerous thing, waking before the sun. Too easy to see what lurks in the shadows when you aren’t blinded by the light.

2 Responses to “I Woke Last Night to the Sound of Thunder”

  1. Sam October 19, 2010 at 10:15 #

    Oh, you’ve completely captured how I feel about “Night Moves.” Wow.

  2. Caroline October 19, 2010 at 11:03 #

    Thanks, Sam. So glad someone else feels that way.

Leave a Reply

