That Sinking Feeling

17 Sep

Gotta love it when you’re reading an agent’s blog and, among the list of things they don’t want to see again, they mention an element that’s a big part of your story. (And, no, not vampires or werewolves!)

Sigh.

My mind went straight into defensive mode: But…but…but mine is special. That was over quickly in favor of Anne-Shirley-scale “depths of despair.”

I do think mine is, if not special, used differently, used in a way to debunk assumptions over this particular trait. I’m going to continue as is, but I will keep a note around so, at revision time, I can re-evaluate with a clearer head.

In other news, it’s Friday. That means Nathan Bransford is going to choose someone for Critique Friday. I submitted my first 250 words a few months ago, but I haven’t won the weekly lottery yet. I’m always disappointed, but it’s probably for the best because I imagine him looking at my stuff and saying that it makes no sense, it’s just words words words, and most expressed in Yoda speech. He, of course, would be far more diplomatic.  That’s just how I see my first page now. I’ve read it too many times.

I haven’t been able to write for a few days now. I hope I can gather some energy and inspiration for the weekend.

2 Responses to “That Sinking Feeling”

  1. Christina September 20, 2010 at 15:52 #

    Loved your reference to Anne Shirley…you rock!

  2. Caroline Bridges September 22, 2010 at 22:15 #

    She’s a kindred spirit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

